Weekend Wardrobe: Packing for Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving has always been an emotional roller coaster.  I eagerly countdown the days until I return North to see my family, attend many social gatherings with friends from different groups near and far, and then before I know it, I’m back on a bus, plane, train, or worse off, in a car, en route to D.C. (or even further South for the first five years).  Although its tempting to substitute traveling with heavy suitcases for gym time that week, baggage fees (one of the reasons I sit on the B30 bus to BWI so I can fly Southwest rather than fork over $50 just so I can pack my toiletries.  It’s the principle, Kids!) and discomfort make it completely unnecessary to pack as if you’re some housewife from New Jersey.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned from commuting up and down the east coast for over a decade, it’s the art of packing a streamlined suitcase.  Try it out, all the cool kids are doing it, even when its the holidays!  Your fellow travelers will appreciate it!

Check out the items below to create a weekend worth of looks for every setting, gathering, and event you could possibly imagine on Thanksgiving weekend.

Thanksgiving Weekend Suitcase

I’m making a pit stop in Manhattan on my way home in order to see some of my nearest and dearest at a fundraiser/social gathering. I plan on wearing my black skinnies, coral blouse, boots, and cable cardigan (for warmth) on the trip up to NYC. Once I get there the boots will be substituted for pumps and the cardigan will be swapped with the open front blazer. The crystal earrings and ring and bangles will be worn alongside the clutch which complements the coral shirt.

Thursday I will assemble an equally comfortable and easy outfit with the beige sweater dress, brown tights, boots, and scarf.  Keep jewelry simple with the gold watch, signet ring, and cream-colored drop earrings.

I will spend Friday and Saturday in upstate NY at my summer camp for a quick get away. Jeans and a bright sweater (yellow), or jeans and a navy stripe Henley/cardigan combo are sufficient day outfits, paired with boots, of course.

Saturday night I’ll be in Boston for a social event. This is when the dress comes in and the pumps/blazer can be re-worn. The crystal jewelry complement the metallic dress and the stacked bangles will add another piece of interest.  The clutch works with the metallic dress.

Sunday church and travel home will be easy with a pair of leggings and Thursday’s sweater dress.  A few bangles can be worn and the cream drop earrings can be worn to keep the outfit a bit more polished and dressed up.

I chose a neutral palette with a few colorful pieces. I chose bangles because they can be stacked for an evening look or pared down for a daytime look. I store all of my jewelry in my clutch when traveling.

As far as personal items go, I travel with a Laura Geller face folio which includes lip, cheek, eye color and mascara (which can be easily traded for your own). I bring my Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer and primer. Also, I throw in roller perfume.  This happens to be Tocca’s Cleopatra (I love the smell, size, and convenience).

I still have room in my carry-on/purse for wallet, ipod, sunglasses, glasses/contacts, a book or magazine, nail polish, and a few other toiletries.

Leave a Reply

